top of page

62nd Ann Arbor Film Festival Award Winners

March 31, 2024

The Ann Arbor Film Festival is proud to announce this year’s award-winning filmmakers selected by jurors Su Friedrich, Deanna Morse, and Wenhua Shi. Read more about the 62nd AAFF Jurors here

The Ann Arbor Film Festival provides direct support to filmmakers. Our 2024 awards competition presents $25,500 to filmmakers through cash and in-kind awards that include film stock, film processing, and camera equipment rental.

The 62nd AAFF Online Festival continues until April 7th at 11:59pm ET.  An award from the AAFF confers prestige and financial support; it can also qualify filmmakers for an Oscar® nomination by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences in the short film category. Qualifying awards are the Ken Burns Award for Best of the Festival, the Chris Frayne Award for Best Animated Film, and the Lawrence Kasdan Award for Best Narrative Film. Read more about our Awards here.   

Watch the awards program online featuring select winners:

The Award Winners for the 62nd AAFF

Ken Burns Award for Best of the Festival

The Sketch | Tomas Cali 

Lawrence Kasdan Award for Best Narrative Film

Bolero | Nans Laborde-Jourdàa 

[will not be included in the online award program]

Tom Berman Award for Most Promising Filmmaker

Minus Plus Multiply | Chu-Chieh Lee

Kodak Cinematic Vision Award 

Amaranth | Justin Black


Susan Dise Best Experimental Film

Mast-del | Maryam Tafakory

[will not be included in the online award program]

Best Documentary Film 

Domus de Janus | Myriam Raccah

The Barbara Aronofsky Latham Award for an Emerging Experimental Video Artist

Chris Frayne Award for Best Animated Film

Chasing Birds | Una Lorenzen

Gil Omenn Art & Science Award

In the Ice, Everything Leaves a Trace | Christopher Oeschger and Gianna Molinari

Prix DeVarti for Funniest Film

Getting OK With Being OK That Things Are Not OK | Zoë Irvine and Pernille Spence

The Terri Schwartz Film Award for Parody and Satire

Catalog '93 | Grau Del Grau

The Eileen Maitland Award

Nothing Special | Efrat Berger

George Manupelli Founder’s Spirit Award

Is Heaven Blue? #2 | Paul de Nooijer and Menno de Nooijer

CameraMall Best Michigan Filmmaker Award

Kyubabe | Bem Willis

Lawther/Graff No Violence Award

Two One Two  | Shira Avni

Barbara Hammer Feminist Film Award

Between you and me | Cameron Kletke

Best Experimental Animation Award

Intersextion | Richard Reeves

The Edge of Your Seat Award

Matta and Matto | Bianca Caderas and Kerstin Zemp

Leon Speakers Award for Best Sound Design

Poem of E.L. | Maya Gurantz


Martin Contreras and Keith Orr Award for Best LGBTQ Film

Esther Newton Made Me Gay | Jean Carlomusto

The No. 1 African Film Award

Loving in Between | Jyoti Mistry

Peter Wilde Award for Most Technically Innovative Film

Universe of Language | Guangli Liu and Bai Li

The Terri Schwartz Asian Film Award

I Would've Been Happy | Jordan Wong

Vox Populi Award

Brief Space of a Time | Fernando Antonio Saldivia Yáñez

Ghostly International Award for Best Music Video

Ghost Song | Joseph Keckler, M. Sharkey

Juror Awards: 

Juror Award | Humoresque | Shinya Isobe

Juror Award | A Place Without Fear | Susanne Deeken

Juror Award | Born Days: How to Disappear | Louis Morton

Juror Award | Cinema for the Dead | Bruno Moreno and Renato Sircilli

Juror Award | Long Time No Techno | Eugenia Bakurin

Jurors Award | Beware | Wrik Mead


bottom of page