INTEGRITÄTSERKLÄRUNG

OFFENER BRIEF AN FILMMACHER:

UNSER VERSPRECHEN AN SIE

Als Stewards und Organisatoren des Ann Arbor Film Festivals verpflichten wir uns – der Vorstand, die Führungskräfte und das Personal – zu einem transparenten, fairen und ethischen Filmauswahlprozess, der die Zeit überdauert.

         

Herz und Seele des Festivals ist der Auswahlprozess. Es gehört den Filmemachern und Filmliebhabern. Es sollte keine Frage sein, ob das Auswahlverfahren frei von Vorurteilen, persönlichen Absichten oder unfairen Vorteilen ist.

         

Darüber hinaus verpflichten wir uns, daran zu arbeiten, die organisatorischen Prozesse der AAFF mit dem Film Festival Code of Ethics der Film Festival Alliance in Einklang zu bringen, der mit Beiträgen von Festivaldirektoren, Programmierern und Arthouse-Managern aus der ganzen Welt entwickelt wurde.

Als Stewards der AAFF und diejenigen, die dafür verantwortlich sind, die Fackel von George Manupellis Vision zu tragen, haben wir diese und andere Schritte unternommen, um sicherzustellen, dass die Integrität des Festivals für jede kommende Saison eindeutig ist.

AAFF-AUSWAHL

Wenn Sie Ihren Film beim Ann Arbor Film Festival einreichen, wird er Teil eines robusten Screening- und Auswahlprozesses. Mindestens zwei Screener – und bis zu sechs – werden Ihre Arbeit begutachten und ernsthaft über eine mögliche Aufnahme in das Festival nachdenken.

Wenn Ihr Film für das Festival ausgewählt wird, erhält er 20.000 US-Dollar in Form von Geld- und Sachpreisen.

Darüber hinaus ist das AAFF eines von wenigen Festivals in Nordamerika, das ein qualifizierendes Filmfestival für die Kurzfilmkategorie der Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences ist. Teilnahmeberechtigt ist ein Kurzfilm, der bei der AAFF einen der folgenden Preise gewinnt:


• Ken Burns Award für das Beste des Festivals
• Chris Frayne Award für den besten Animationsfilm
• Lawrence Kasdan Award für die beste Erzählung

Wenn Ihre Arbeit in das Festival einprogrammiert ist, wird Ihre Arbeit auch für kostenpflichtige Lizenzmöglichkeiten berücksichtigt, darunter das AAFF-Tourprogramm, die jährliche DVD und die Filmsammlung der Ann Arbor District Library.

Das Magazin MovieMaker nannte die AAFF unter den

50 Festivals, die den Eintrittspreis für 2019 und 2021 wert sind:

MM-50-Fest-Laurels2019.png
MM 50 Fest Laurels_2021.jpeg

STATEMENT OF INTEGRITY

OPEN LETTER TO FILMMAKERS:

OUR PLEDGE TO YOU

As the Ann Arbor Film Festival’s stewards and organizers, we— the board of directors, leaders and staff — are committed to a transparent, fair and ethical film selection process that stands the test of time.

         

The heart and soul of the festival is the selection process. It belongs to the filmmakers and those who love film. There should be no question whether the selection process is free of bias, personal agendas, or unfair advantages.

         

In addition, we pledge to work to align the AAFF’s organizational processes with the Film Festival Alliance’s Film Festival Code of Ethics—developed with input from festival directors, programmers, and art house managers from around the world.

As the AAFF’s stewards and those responsible for carrying the torch of George Manupelli’s vision, we took these and other steps to ensure the festival’s integrity is unequivocal for every season to come.

AAFF SELECTION

When you submit your film to the Ann Arbor Film Festival, it becomes part of a robust screening and selection process. At least two screeners—and up to six—will review your work and give it serious consideration for potential inclusion in the festival.

If chosen for the festival, your film will be in consideration for $20,000 in cash and in-kind juried festival awards.

 

In addition, the AAFF is one of a handful of festivals in North America that is a qualifying film festival for the short film category of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. A short film that wins one of the following awards at the AAFF becomes eligible:


• Ken Burns Award for Best of the Festival
• Chris Frayne Award for Best Animated Film
• Lawrence Kasdan Award for Best Narrative

 

If programmed into the festival, your work will also be considered for paid licensing opportunities including the AAFF touring program, annual DVD, and Ann Arbor District Library film collection.

MovieMaker magazine named the AAFF among the

50 Festivals Worth the Entry Fee for 2019 and 2021.

MM-50-Fest-Laurels2019.png
MM 50 Fest Laurels_2021.jpeg

AAFF won Best Film Festival for the 2021 Best of Detroit Awards from the Detroit Metro Times

BOD2021_Logo_WINNERwMTlogo2 (1).jpg

The Ann Arbor Film Festival has earned a 2022 Gold Seal of Transparency with Guidestar (Candid). Every year, millions of nonprofits spend trillions of dollars around the world. Candid finds out where that money comes from, where it goes, and why it matters. Candid's data tools on nonprofits, foundations, and grants are the most comprehensive in the world.