April 3, 2012


The 50th Ann Arbor Film Festival is proud to announce this year's award-winning films as chosen by our esteemed jury: Michael Robinson, Kathy Geritz and Peter Rose. The Vimeo Audience Award was determined through balloting in competiton screenings at the 50th AAFF. This year the AAFF awarded over $22,000 in cash and film stock/processing.


Ken Burns Award for Best of the Festival  $3,000

Lack of Evidence (Manque de Preuves) (Hayoun KWON)


The Stan Brakhage Film at Wit’s End Award  $1,000

Voluptuous Sleep (Betzy Bromberg)


Lawrence Kasdan Award for Best Narrative Film  $1,000

Palaces of Pity (Daniel Schmidt, Gabriel Abrantes)


Michael Moore Award for Best Documentary Film  $1,000

Guañape Sur (János Richter)


Gus Van Sant Award for Best Experimental Film  $1,000

Sounding Glass (Sylvia Schedelbauer)


Chris Frayne Award for Best Animated Film  $1,000 ($500 each)

It’s such a beautiful day (Don Hertzfeldt)

Traces (Scott Stark)


The Barbara Aronofsky Latham Award for Emerging Experimental Video Artist  $1,000

Ceibas: The Epilogue – The Well of Representation (Evan Meaney)


Prix DeVarti for Funniest Film  $1,000 ($333 each)

Walt Disney’s “Taxi Driver” (Bryan Boyce)

Shadow Cuts (Martin Arnold)

Pluto Declaration (Travis Wilkerson)


Tom Berman Award for Most Promising Filmmaker  $1,000

The Strawberry Tree (Simone Rapisarda Casanova)


Kodak/Colorlab Award for Best Cinematography $3,000 [$1,500 of film plus $1,500 processing]

Undergrowth (Robert Todd)

Within (Robert Todd)


Art & Science Award  $750

20Hz (Semiconductor)


Award for Best International Film  $500

Untitled (Neil Beloufa)


Peter Wilde Award for Most Technically Innovative Film  $500

Vexed (Telcosystems)


\aut\FILM Award for Best LGBT Film  $500

The Evil Eyes (Bobby Abate)


The Ghostly Award for Best Sound Design  $500

Remote (Jesse McLean)


The No Violence Award  $512

If the War Continues (Jonathan Schwartz)


George Manupelli Founder’s Spirit Award  $500

By Foot-Candle Light (Mary Helena Clark)


The Eileen Maitland Award  $500

Irma (Charles Fairbanks)


Award for Best Music Video $500

Go Outside (Isaiah Seret)


JURY AWARDS - $2,250 ($250 each)

As Above, So Below (Sarah J. Christman)

Tin Pressed (Dani Leventhal)

Curious Light (Charlotte Pryce)

Landfill 16 (Jennifer Reeves)

August Song (Jodie Mack, Emily Kuehn)

A Lax Riddle Unit (Laida Lertxundi)

Quest (Cautare) (Ionuţ Piturescu)

The House (Das Haus) (David Buob)

Envelop (Cam Archer)


Vimeo Audience Award  $1,000 ($500 each)

Moxie (Stephen Irwin)

Verses (James Sansing)


Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

Recent Posts

March 22, 2020

Please reload

ADDRESS: 230 Collingwood Dr #160b,

Ann Arbor, MI 48103


EMAIL: info@aafilmfest.org


PHONE: (734) 995-5356

Ann Arbor Film Festival 

Registered 501(c)(3)

EIN: 38-2379836