top of page

The 60th AAFF Award Winners

Published March 28, 2022

The Ann Arbor Film Festival is proud to announce this year’s award-winning filmmakers selected by jurors Mariam Ghani, Gina Kamentsky, and Thomas Renoldner.

The online festival continued until March 30th, 2022 at 11:59pm ET. An award from the AAFF confers prestige and financial support; it can also qualify filmmakers for an Oscar® nomination by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences in the short film category. Qualifying awards are the Ken Burns Award for Best of the Festival, the Chris Frayne Award for Best Animated Film, and the Lawrence Kasdan Award for Best Narrative Film.

Watch the programs online:

The award-winners for the 60th AAFF:

Ken Burns for Best of the Festival

Lacerate, Janis Rafa

Tom Berman Award for Most Promising Filmmaker

Theorie und Praxis, Leonie Minor

Lawrence Kasdan Award for Best Narrative Film

Shari, Nao Yoshigai

Best Experimental Film

Cosmos-War-Finally-Love, Luciano Zubillaga

Kodak Cinematic Vision Award

A Brief Appearance of Neon, Matthias Sahli, Immanuel Esser

Best Documentary Film

Looking for Horses, Stefan Pavlović

Chris Frayne Award for Best Animated Film

The Fourth Wall, Mahboobeh Kalaee

Gil Omenn Art & Science Award

Moving or Being Moved, Sabine Gruffat

Prix DeVarti for Funniest Film

Benztown, Gottfried Mentor

The Barbara Aronofsky Latham Award for an Emerging Experimental Video Artist

Precautionary Measures, Lizzy Deacon, Ika Schwander

The Eileen Maitland Award

Rising Sun Blues (Rua Dos Anjos), Renata Ferraz, Maria Roxo

George Manupelli Founder’s Spirit Award

Amazon Woman, Anna Vasof

CameraMall Best Michigan Filmmaker Award

Miracle Whip, Jerod Willis

Lawther/Graff No Violence Award

kopitoto, Lisa Kusanagi, JuJu Kusanagi, Yvonne Meier

Barbara Hammer Feminist Film Award

Irani Bag, Maryam Tafakory

Best Experimental Animation Award

Leon Speakers Award for Best Sound Design

Salidas, Michael Fetter Nathansky

Martin Contreras and Keith Orr \aut\ FILM Award for Best LGBTQ Film

Tank Fairy, Erich Rettstadt

Peter Wilde Award for Most Technically Innovative Film

Money is the One True God, Lachlan Turczan

The No. 1 African Film Award

She Gather Me, Miatta Kawinzi

Award for Best International Film

Contraindre, Galdric Fleury, Antoine Fontaine

UMCU Audience Award The Silver Reel, Josh Gibson

Best Music Video Awards

John L, Nina McNeely Desolvido, Andrés Roa Ariza

Gina Kamentsky Juror Award

3 Wetlands, Jane Cheadle

Mariam Ghani Juror Award

Thomas Renoldner Juror Award

After the Dance, Shunsaku Hayashi


bottom of page