top of page

Additional Awards Programs & Winners Announcement

We are thrilled to announce that we are showing ALL of the films that received awards for the 58th Ann Arbor Film Festival. Instead of just Awards 1 and Awards 2, there will be two additional awards screenings. Awards 3 will be streaming Sunday, March 29 at 7:45pm-10:30pm EDT. We are also making arrangements to show the three awarded feature films Monday, March 30 beginning at 4pm EDT.

Without further ado, the Ann Arbor Film Festival is proud to announce this year’s award-winning filmmakers selected by jurors, Osbert Parker, Lynne Sachs, and Lisa Steele.

The 2020 awards competition presents $22,500 to filmmakers through mostly cash and some in-kind awards such as film stock, film processing, camera equipment, and digital scanning services.

An award from the AAFF confers prestige and financial support; it can also qualify filmmakers for an Oscar® nomination by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences in the short film category.

Qualifying awards are the Ken Burns Award for Best of the Festival, the Chris Frayne Award for Best Animated Film, the Lawrence Kasdan Award for Best Narrative Film, and Best Experimental Film. See the full list of award winners below.

58th Ann Arbor Film Festival Awards

Ken Burns Award for Best of the Festival

Goodbye Fantasy - Amber Bemak and Nadia Granados

Tom Berman Award for Most Promising Filmmaker

I Dream of Vietnam - Jiayu Yang

Kodak Cinematic Vision Award

E-Ticket - Simon Liu

Best Experimental Film

Video Blues - Emma Tusell

Best Documentary Film

Kere mattu Kere (The Lake and The Lake) - Sindhu Thirumalaisamy

Lawrence Kasdan Award for Best Narrative Film

The Golden Legend - Chema García Ibarra and Ion de Sosa

Chris Frayne Award for Best Animated Film

Freeze Frame - Soetkin Verstegen

Cutters Studios Archival Film Award

The Deepest Hole - Matt McCormick

Gil Omenn Art & Science Award

Home in the Woods - Brandon Wilson

Prix DeVarti for Funniest Film



I’m Not A Robot - Sean Buckelew

The Barbara Aronofsky Latham Award for an Emerging Experimental Video Artist

Scar - Leilei Xia


Someday - Páraic Mc Gloughlin

The Eileen Maitland Award

Umbilical - Danski Tang

PROCAM Best Regional Filmmaker Award

Blue - Laura Magnusson

​George Manupelli Founder’s Spirit Award

Queering di Teknolojik - Timothy Smith

The No Violence Award

Green Ash (Ceniza Verde) - Pablo Mazzolo

UMCU Audience Award

Tetlalli: The Place of Stones - Miguel Nájera

Leon Speakers Award for Best Sound Design

Who’s Afraid of RGB? - Billy Roisz

Peter Wilde Award for Most Technically Innovative Film

Vertigo A.I. - Chris Peters

Tíos Award for Best International Film

The Eyes of Summer - Rajee Samarasinghe

\aut\ FILM Award for Best LGBTQ Film

Why Can't I Be Me? Around You - Harrod Blank

Overture/Wazoo Award for Best Music Video

Diamonds - Tobias Kubli and Tillo Spreng

Juror Awards

KIDS-Michael Frei

Fifth Metacarpal - Scott Fitzpatrick

The Giverny Document - Ja'Tovia Gary

Framing Agnes - Chase Joynt and Kristen Schilt

Flesh - Camila Kater

Colors & Shadows - Andreas Hadjipateras

Candy Shop - Patrick Smith

Aphasia or (It Fell Upon My Mind) - Brynne McGregor

Goodbye Mommy - Jack Wedge

Throat Singing in Kangirsuk - Eva Kaukai and Manon Chamberland

Thorax - Siegfried A. Fruhauf

bottom of page