top of page


The Ann Arbor Film Festival is proud to announce the award recipients for the 56th AAFF as chosen by our esteemed jurors: Ephraim Asili, Rea Tajiri, and Cecelia Condit. Thank you filmmakers and artists for bringing remarkable and diverse works to our festival and thank you to everyone who attended and participated in another successful festival week! The Ann Arbor Film Festival provides direct support to filmmakers. Our 2018 awards competition presents $22,500 to filmmakers through cash and in-kind awards that include camera equipment and digital scanning services. Winning an award at the AAFF can qualify filmmakers for Oscar® nomination by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences in the short film category (qualifying awards are Best of Festival, Best Experimental Film, Best Animation, and Best Narrative).

56th Ann Arbor Film Festival Awards:

Ken Burns Award for Best of the Festival:

Watching the Detectives - Chris Kennedy Tom Berman Award for Most Promising Filmmaker:

Ayesha - Yanyu Dong Kodak Cinematic Vision Award: Camera Threat - Bernd Lützeler

Best Experimental Film:

165708 - Josephine Massarella Michael Moore Award for Best Documentary Film:

Did You Wonder Who Fired the Gun? - Travis Wilkerson Lawrence Kasdan Award for Best Narrative Film:

The Impossible Picture - Sandra Wollner Chris Frayne Award for Best Animated Film:

SPLIT: Annihilation - Robbie Ward & Lotus Lantern - Xingpei Shen Cutters Studios Archival Film Award:

Nothing a Little Soap and Water Can’t Fix - Jen Proctor Gil Omenn Art & Science Award:

Split: Sunken Treasure - Shanna Maurizi & Silica - Pia Borg Prix DeVarti for Funniest Film:

Split: LINK - Robert Löbel and Growing Girl - Marnie Ellen Hertzler The Barbara Aronofsky Latham Award for an Emerging Experimental Video Artist:

Your father was born 100 years old, and so was the Nakba /أبوكي خلق عمره ١٠٠ سنة، زي النكبة - Razan AlSalah The Eileen Maitland Award:

Shape of a Surface - Nazlı Dinçel PROCAM Best Regional Filmmaker Award:​

Low Season - Jonathan Johnson The No Violence Award:

The Stream VII - Hiroya Sakurai Audience Award:

Strange Case - Zbigniew Czapla \aut\ FILM Award for Best LGBTQ Film:

Fragments 83 - Richard Millen George Manupelli Founder’s Spirit Award:

Children Are Not Afraid of Death, Children Are Afraid of Ghosts - Rong Guang Rong Leon Speakers Award for Best Sound Design:

Ronco Rumor Remoto / Rough Remote Rumble - Jorge López Navarrete Peter Wilde Award for Most Technically Innovative Film:

When Time Moves Faster - Anna Vasof Tíos Award for Best International Film:

Honane - Takuya Dairiki, Takashi Miura Overture/Wazoo Award for Best Music Video:

Stop Speaking - Alisa Yang Jury Awards:

Strike a Rock - Aliki Saragas Those Who Come, Will Hear - Simon Plouffe An Empty Threat - Josh Lewis How Old Are You? How Old Were You? - Cherlyn Hsing-Hsin Liu

bottom of page