March 26, 2013


The Ann Arbor Film Festival is proud to announce the award recipients for the 51st AAFF as chosen by our esteemed jury Kevin Jerome Everson, Laida Lertxundi and Marcin Gizycki.


Ken Burns Award for Best of the Festival

Our Nixon (Penny Lane)


The Stan Brakhage Film at Wit’s End Award

I Am Micro (Shai Heredia, Shumona Goel)


Lawrence Kasdan Award for Best Narrative Film

Bite of the Tail (Song E Kim)


Michael Moore Award for Best Documentary Film

Skinningrove (Michael Almereyda)


Award for Best International Film

2012 (Takashi Makino)


Peter Wilde Award for Most Technically Innovative Film

Da Vinci (Yuri Ancarani)


\aut\FILM Award for Best LGBT Film

Encounters I May or May Not Have Had with Peter Berlin (Mariah Garnett)


Leon Speakers Award for Best Sound Design

Life is an Opinion, Fire a Fact (Karen Yasinsky)


FotoKem/Colorlab Award for Best Cinematography

Despedida (farewell) (Alexandra Cuesta)

People’s Park (Libbie D. Cohn, J.P. Sniadecki)


The No Violence Award

I Remember: A Film About Joe Brainard (Matt Wolf)


Gus Van Sant Award for Best Experimental Film

Postface (Frédéric Moffet)


Chris Frayne Award for Best Animated Film

Burning Star (Joshua Gen Solondz)


The Barbara Aronofsky Latham Award for Emerging Experimental Video Artist

Pareidolia (Maya Erdelyi)


Prix DeVarti for Funniest Film

Liberaceón (Chris Vargas)


Tom Berman Award for Most Promising Filmmaker

Split Ends, I Feel Wonderful (Akosua Adoma Owusu)


George Manupelli Founder’s Spirit Award

Flower (Naoko Tasaka)


Art & Science Award

Dear Pluto (Joanna Priestley)


The Eileen Maitland Award

Lie Back and Enjoy It: A Film About JoAnn Elam (Jessica Bardsley)


Award for Best Music Video

Reagan by Killer Mike (Daniel Garcia, Harry Teitelman)


Vimeo Audience Award

Burrow-Cams (Sam Easterson)

Buffalo Death Mask (Mike Hoolboom)


Jury Awards 

Handful of Dust (Hope Tucker)

Solar Sight II (Lawrence Jordan)

Coversong (Eric Dyer)

More Is Always on the Way (Bryan Boyce)

Releasing Human Energies (Mark Toscano)

Circle in the Sand (Michael Robinson)

Phantom of a Libertine (Ben Rivers)

Dad’s Stick (John Smith)

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

Recent Posts

January 24, 2020

December 12, 2019

December 3, 2019

Please reload


Ann Arbor Film Festival 

Registered 501(c)(3)

EIN: 38-2379836