AAFF Newsletter: April 2010

  • Awards Announced
  • Highlights from the 48th Festival
  • Thank you!
  • Education and the AAFF


The Ann Arbor Film Festival proudly announces its 2010 award winners, who will receive a total of $20,000, chosen by this year's jurors Irinia Leimbacher, Tomonari Nishikawa and Ben Russell. The $3,000 Ken Burns Best of Festival Award was split between two films this year, Beauty Plus Pity by Emily Vey Duke & Cooper Battersby and Trees of Syntax, Leaves of Axis by Daichi Saito. The $1,000 Stan Brakhage Film At Wit's End Award went to Jim Trainor for The Presentation Theme. The $1,000 Lawrence Kasdan Best Narrative Film Award also had co-winners: Matt McCormick's Some Days Are Better Than Others and Jennifer Reeder's Seven Songs About Thunder. The $1,500 Edward Jones Audience Award goes to three filmmakers: Zeynep Gürsel with Coffee Futures, Nicole Opper for Off And Running and Laurie Hill with Photograph of Jesus: To see the rest of of our award winners visit here.


National and local bloggers, including Emily Doe from Wholphin, Jonathan Marlow of San Francisco Cinematheque,
Jax Deluca from Squeaky Wheel and Jeff Meyers of Concentrate/Metro Times cover the 48th Ann Arbor Film Festival. Special thanks to our lead blogger, Amanda Scotese.

You can see photo highlights of the Festival on the  AAFF Flickr page including, Kenneth Anger onstage, Flying Lotus Q&A, Ben Russell on the bike powered projector, Opening Night, Daniel Barrow and numerous shots chronicling the entire week. Special thanks to our lead photographer, Connie Huang.

Donald Harrison, Executive Director of the
AAFF, posted the Final Festival Blog:

"Our 48th season was a festival full of lively and large audiences, wild headlines, pre-show surprises, live performances,
adventures onstage, lasting connections, and memorable programming. Attendance continues to rise, and this year’s festival drew together many emerging and established filmmakers with film curators, distributors and educators. Opening Night was a packed house with a stylish and spirited crowd. Chick Strand’s first film “Angel Blue Sweet Wings” started this year’s screenings with beauty and music while Laidi Lertxundi’s “My Tears Are Dry” concluded the evening on another musical note, this time longing for more. In between we experienced a full spectrum of filmmakers exploring the world through the art form of film.



We are deeply thankful to the many volunteers, members and donors who supported our 48th festival. As a non-profit organization we rely on the generous, dedicated support of our community.

We would like to thank the many wonderful sponsors and foundations that helped underwrite our efforts. Major foundational support this year was provided by the 
National Endowment for the Arts, The Andy Warhol Foundation, the State Street Area Association and Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences.

Major sponsors that participated actively in our efforts were:
Edward Jones Financial, Enspire Dental and the College for Creative Studies. Also providing significant support this year were Miller Canfield, Google, VGKids, and Yelp, along with key media sponsors Metro TimesDetroit Public TV and ann arbor's 107one. You can view the entire roster of AAFF
sponsors and advertisers 

Special thanks also to the following: the Michigan Theater, the main venue partner of the Festival; Ryan Molloy for 48th festival design; Paquetta Palmer for Opening Night coordination. Rick & Myrna for housing & transportation coordination. You can view more staff, volunteers and interns that powered the 48th festival here.


Since its origins on the University of Michigan campus in 1963, the Ann Arbor Film Festival has enjoyed strong
connections with educational institutions. The 48th Festival continued this tradition with increased involvement from universities and colleges across the country.

The University of Michigan School of Art & Design co-presented and co-curated four programs at this year's festival, and the Department of Screen Arts & Cultures co-presented a free public panel. Students from the College for Creative Studies, a leading art school in Detroit, produced bumpers that screened at this year's festival. Eastern Michigan University faculty were instrumental in both the festival design and screening process. Schools supporting the AAFF and sending students to attend the festival included the Center for Film Studies, Oakland Community College and Washtenaw Community College. Additional support was provided by Specs Howard School of Media Arts and California Institute of the Arts (CalArts).

Film faculty also traveled with students to this year's festival from University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee, University of New Mexico, Columbia College & Loyola University in Chicago.

Thank you
to all schools supporting the AAFF mission of supporting bold, visionary filmmakers, promoting the art of film & new media, and providing communities with remarkable cinematic experiences. We hope to see you all next year!

Posted on April 01st, 2010